These are a few of the most notable past students of Cistercian College Roscrea.

Brian Cowen – Former Taoiseach
Dick Spring – Former international rugby player and Tanaiste
Donal Spring – Former Rugby International and Solicitor.
David Andrews – Barrister and former Minister for Foreign Affairs
Jim Glennon – Former international rugby player and former TD
Conor Brady – Former Editor of The Irish Times
Barry Cowen – Fianna Fáil TD
Willie Mullins – Racehorse trainer and former jockey
Séamus Hennessy – All-Ireland medallist with Tipperary (Hurling)
Gavin Duffy – International rugby player
Ned Byrne – International Rugby player and Kilkenny hurler.
Conor McCullagh – Irish Olympian
Martin McElroy – Olympic Gold Medal coach in rowing.
Raymond Hernan – Chief Executive Bus Eireann
Michael Dwan – Chief Executive Gowan Group
Mark Redmond – Chief Executive American Chamber
Bill O’Brien – Managing Director Brady Family Ham Group
Sean McCann – Former Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces.

Rory O’Connell – Chef and Head of Ballymaloe Cookery School
Tom O’Connell – Restauranteur
Sean O’Brien – Connacht Rugby player
John Burns – Editor of The Sunday Times Irish Edition
Kieran Fitzgerald – Garda Ombudsman
Noel O’Callaghan – Founder O’Callaghan Hotel Group
Joe Hayes – Retired Diplomat
Cormac Bourke – Editor, Sunday Independent
Eoghan McMahon – Musician and singer in “Taken”
Tiernan O’Halloran – Irish Rugby player
Conor Faughnan – AA Roadwatch
Arthur Spring – Labour TD
Stephen Hanley – General Manager Shelbourne Hotel.
M.J. Nolan – Former Fianna Fail T.D.
Tom Enright – Former Fine Gael T.D.
John Geary – Professor of Business UCD
Mark Ryan – Former Managing Director Accenture

Website of the Cistercian College Past Pupils Union

Click below to visit the website of the Cistercian College Past Pupils Union.

Visit Website

Dates for your diary


Saturday, September 4th Abbot’s Cup Golf Outing, Roscrea Golf Club Contact: Ms Katherine Donovan, Union Secretary: [email protected]
Sunday September 5th Mass for deceased pastmen at 10.30am in the Abbey Church


Union AGM at 12.00 noon in the College Boardroom